Last week I met with the band, Chris Rosser my recording engineer and co-producer, and took care of everything I could in the world of my day job so as to have next week as free of distractions as possible. I spent the better part of yesterday and all of today up until now fine tuning songs and the ever elusive bridge configurations, and although I have a few non checked checkboxes on the list, it’s well within reason to have everything done and cleaned up in time to record. I figure I’ll record a few songs a day, or more if it’s going well, but I don’t want to have to rush. Then Will and Billy will come in towards the end of the week and lay down their parts over the course of a few days. And who knows, there may be a guest musician or two scheduled in there somewhere.

So like every other aspect of my life, there’s the nuts and bolts and homework/legwork portion of the task, and then there’s the intangible, spontaneous, creative part that can’t be forced or planned. I’ve pretty much done the homework and preparations, and now it’s time to step out of the way and let the real energy flow that makes the difference a prepared performance, and an inspired one. I’m not going to lie to you, sitting in the recording booth holding a guitar and staring at the microphone is a fairly intimidating position to be in at times. Particularly when what you’re offering up is an original song, and you’re not sure yet if it’s going to fly or not.

But I’m on it. It’s going to happen, and I’m not even worried about it. I am confident that this is going to be the best and most representative recording I’ve made yet, and I can’t wait to share it with you all.

I’ll keep you posted as the week progresses, and thanks so much for being there and making this recording happen.

AB

