I’m sitting in the studio watching my engineer Chris Rosser going through the 30 or so takes we did of 4 different songs today. They sound pretty good, and could probably stand on their own without the band behind them for the most part. That’s been the goal for me on this recording, and I think we’re on the right track. But I have to say it’s exhausting to sing and play that much, especially with the intense focus necessary for recording. On any given show night I might play 2 or 3 hours, but there’s lots of space filled in by the band and a lot of variation, but for the past two days I’ve been playing probably better than 4 hours solid each day, with a lot of focus and intensity, on the same songs over and over. But it’s good. It’s nice to push myself into the mental spaces that this process necessitates. It’s like a psychological game I have to play with myself, and stay balanced between the critic and the creator. Not to mention the “let’s do one more take and I bet we’ve got it” part. Ok. One more take. No problem.

But you know what has been the coolest part of this for me? I have continually gotten encouraging and positive messages from friends, family and fans via FB, emails, texts, and posts for the past two days, and it’s been awesome. Two specific times I’ve been having a really tough time with a song, taken a moment and turned my phone on and there in front of me was a message that said exactly what I needed to hear, and was able to turn right around and make the tune happen on the next take (or three…). This is the first CD I’ve recorded when there have been so many people supporting me and interested in the product. I can feel it, and I am delighted to have all of you here in the studio with me in spirit. But not in person. Seriously, you guys stay out of here.

I say the toughest part for me is about halfway through, although in the past two minutes it became apparent that I might have to re-record one of the songs we thought we nailed earlier today. Whatever, it’s part of the process. And thanks to all of you reading this, I’m here and able to do this.

Many thanks for everything, and I’ll keep you all in the loop!

 

